Home | Events | An evening with 3 Scandinavian authors discussing their current books

An evening with 3 Scandinavian authors discussing their current books

27 April 2022
DKUK events

DKUK with Barnet Libraries presents: An online evening with 3 Scandinavian authors discussing their current books.

Date
27 April 2022
Time
19:00 – 20:00
Venue
Online event
View the map
Price
Free to attend Please note when signing up, your details will be handled by Barnet Libraries

On 27 April from 7-8pm DKUK will again together with Barnet Libraries present: An online evening with Scandinavian authors.

You will virtually meet Anne Mette Hancock ‘The Corpse Flower’ from Denmark, Lina Bengtsdotter ‘For the Lost’ from Sweden, and Silje Ulstein ‘Reptile Memoirs’ from Norway in conversation with Alex Minnis from Nordic Watchlist.

There will be a 20mins Q&A session.

Alex is the founder of Nordic Watchlist, a website that supports and showcases Nordic entertainment and culture. He is also COO at Off the Map Travel, where he designs and sells exciting trips to Iceland and Scandinavia. He has over 12 years of travel experience to the Nordic region.

Please note – when signing up, you will register with and your details/data will be handled by Barnet Libraries directly.

  • Anne Mette Hancock
  • Lina Bengtsdotter
  • Silje Ulstein

Anne Mette Hancock has a bachelor’s degree in History and studied journalism at the Roskilde University and Berlingske. She was born in the small town of Gråsten in Denmark and has lived in both the US and France. Today Anne Mette lives in Copenhagen with her two children.

In 2017 she made her debut as an author with The Corpse Flower, where we are introduced to journalist Heloise Kaldan and police officer Erik Schäfer. This poignant suspense novel awarded her with the Danish Crime Academy’s debutant prize in 2017.The second book in the series, The Collector, was published in 2018 to great acclaim. 

That very year Anne Mette Hancock was named Author of the year in Denmark.

Her third novel Pitbull was published in January 2020.

The Corpse Flower

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Sharp Objects in this internationally bestselling thriller, for fans of Jo Nesbo and Henning Mankell

Danish journalist Heloise Kaldan is in the middle of a nightmare. One of her sources has been caught lying, and she could lose her job over it. And then she receives the first in a series of cryptic letters from an alleged killer.

Anna Kiel is wanted for murder but hasn’t been seen by anyone in three years. When the reporter who first wrote about the case is found murdered in his apartment, detective Erik Schafer comes up with the first lead. Has Anna Kiel struck again? If so, why does every clue point directly to Heloise Kaldan?

As Heloise starts digging deeper, she realises that to tell Anna’s story she will have to revisit her darkest past, and confront the one person she swore she’d never see again…

Lina Bengtsdotter was raised in the small town of Gullspång, the setting of her lauded Charlie Lager series. She has a background in teaching within the fields of Swedish and Psychology and started off her literary career as a short story writer with works published in numerous newspapers in the Nordic countries.

Her full-length debut For the Missing landed her the 2017 Crimetime Specsavers Award for ‘Crime Debut of the Year’ in Sweden and established a cutting-edge authorship on the world stage, defined by well-crafted page-turner plotlines and captivating character portrayals.

“The dark humour, compelling characters and exquisite writing means you’re always in for a treat with Lina Bengtsdotter’s novels.”

Camilla Läckberg

“Lina Bengtsdotter’s books are beautiful, dark and completely addictive. I love them!”

Katrine Engberg

For the Lost

A MISSING CHILD

In Karlstad, nine-month-old Beatrice is missing from her pram. Her parents are in shock and the media is in a frenzy.

A PERSONAL STRUGGLE

DI Charlie Lager is struggling with her own demons when she’s called to investigate, forced to push them aside as the case intensifies.

A CLOCK RUNNING DOWN

As lead after lead goes nowhere, Charlie starts to feel like nobody actually wants the truth to come out about Beatrice as reluctant locals shut down in the face of her questions. And with each passing hour, the chance of finding Beatrice alive becomes less and less likely…

Silje Ulstein has a master’s degree in Literature from the University of Oslo and studied creative writing at the Bergen Writing Academy. Her debut novel Reptile Memoirs was a bestseller in Norway. She lives in Oslo. Alison McCullough is a Norwegian to English translator and writer. She was awarded a National Centre for Writing Emerging Translator Mentorship in 2017. She lives in Stavanger, Norway.

Reptile Memoirs:

Liv has a lot of secrets. Late one night, in the aftermath of a party in the apartment she shares with two friends in Ålesund, she sees a python on a TV nature show and becomes obsessed with the idea of buying a snake as a pet. Soon Nero, a baby Burmese python, becomes the apartment’s fourth roommate. As Liv bonds with Nero, she is struck by a desire that surprises her with its intensity. Finally, she is safe.

Thirteen years later, in the nearby town of Kristiansund, Mariam Lind goes on a shopping trip with her eleven-year-old daughter, Iben. Following an argument Mariam storms off, expecting her young daughter to make her own way home . . . but she never does. Detective Roe Olsvik, new to the Kristiansund police department, is assigned to the case of Iben’s disappearance. As he interrogates Mariam, he instantly suspects her – but there is much more to this case and these characters than their outer appearances would suggest.

A biting and constantly shifting tale of family secrets, rebirth and the legacy of trauma, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliant exploration of the cold-bloodedness of humanity.